DHPG Mon Amour – Personal Film

Three years ago I worked as an intern for a film organisation in London, UK. My job was to look at films from this  vast archive of 16mm films and assess their condition. This gave me an unprecedented access to films that I would have never been able to see otherwise .

One day I stumbled across a film that looked in pretty bad shape and decided that I should watch it.

It was called DHPG Mon Amour.

It started of as a diary by these two gay guys that were diagnosed with GRID (or as we know it today AIDS).  I remember watching the film and as it flowed through the projector silently amazed.

These two unknown men were experimenting in front of the camera with drugs, piercing their chests with needles and  documenting their doses; for others. They were making a survival manual for others that were or will be infected in the future with this weird and complicated disease.

When they look at the camera you can see their  faces, scared but brave. They never lost any of their willingness to live, they were happy but worried. They mention their friends who themselves experimented with their doses and techniques; some were succesful and prolonged their lives, others did not make it.

I really do not know what happened to these two individuals. I often find my self thinking about them.

I will never forget them.

This is for you guys.

Your friend.

S.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DHPG Mon Amour – Personal Film

  1. lisa C says:

    Hello I taught this film in film and gender studies classes for many years, in a video copy. Can you tell me who has the film print? I too will never forget this film. Thank you!

  2. Carl George says:

    Hi.
    My name is Carl George and I made the film DHPG Mon Amour. I just happened to stumble upon this blogsite today because a section of the film has been incorporated into a new documentary called “How to Survive a Plague” that was shown at Sundance this year and I was looking for the year the film was made (I had forgotten). Both men in the film, Joe Walsh and David Conover are dead, having succumbed to AIDS related illnesses shortly after the film was made. I shot it on Super-8 silent film because I wanted it to have a home movie quality and also because Super-8 was affordable. After the film was shot – in one evening in 8 or 9 sections as each reel of S-8 film comes in 3 minute reels. After editing the film a bit, I met the guys again, both of whom were good friends of mine, and projected the film onto the wall of their apartment. I recorded their remarks as they watched the film. David was nearly blind but he could make out some images, while Joe provided commentary along the way “telling” David what he was seeing.
    I’m happy that you’ve both seen the film as I believe it is important and that it had such a profound effect. It is no longer available at LUX films in London but is available through me in NYC.
    Carl George
    carl.george@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

